DOMINO EFFECT

Sometimes my nerves hurt
when they sense that what
is in front of me,
inside of me
comes from the domino
that fell next to the tree
in a village in Chile.

This chain reaction
sets in motion a chemical infraction
in my brain as branches fade
when they are no longer needed.

Just keep on breathing,
just make sure my heart’s still beating.

The noise of expansion
pounds onto my drums
infusing underneath the boards
of electrical fabric.

Set my dial to the tune
of the living end
where all that is seen
all that is felt
is the interplay between
order and chaos

solidity and fluidity
lucidity and boundlessness –
where nothing claws
at my diaphragm

I am triggerless.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

