I BELIEVE

I don’t have to convince you of anything
You don’t have to believe a single word I say
There are infinite perspectives
I’m surprised anyone agrees on anything

You don’t have to convince me of anything
I don’t have to believe a single word you say
There are multitudes of viewpoints
I’m surprised anyone understands anyone

We don’t have the same biology
We differ in our psychology
We don’t share the exact same history
What are you telling me to believe?

Last night I travelled to a parallel universe
Don’t believe me?
Well, that’s irrelevant.

I believe that you believe in what you believe
What the fuck are facts anyway?

I can try to shift my mind into yours temporarily
To try to experience your subjectivity
(Subjectivity is all that exists actually)
Without needing to accept it as my own

I haven’t gone through what you have been through
I have not seen what you have seen
But none of this is relevant
We don’t need to agree for you to connect with me

If you don’t want to connect with me then don’t
If I don’t want to connect with you then I won’t
I believe that you believe in what you believe
And you don’t even have to believe me.

One thought on “I BELIEVE

Add yours

  1. Belief is incredibly powerful, the foundation of the laws we subscribe to. In Ugly Boy Yolandi sings “I believe in magic” to many this may come across as chessy, a hippies bumber sticker, but this is the first law of Chaos Magic and without ‘magic’ simply doesn’t work. Wonderfully insightful poem, with each passing second your seeing things as they truly are.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

