BROKEN OPEN

seventy jagged beats
per minute,

convulsing sinews
responding to:

the surging in,
the letting out,

the sinking
beneath new skin.

I have been broken.

I have been taken
to another plane
where love
is made from
quicksand

and all bleeding
fades

unless platelets
are so filled with
life
that I can taste it.

I have been torn
open.

I have spoken
of deadness,
lived it,
until its familiarity,
our intimacy
can only be reckless
now.

these are my choices
made.

I know the void
and its beauty
will always hold me.

I have been broken
and the clawing at my veins
becomes inane

and all the hoping
I’ve rested upon
removes its presence
from my day.

there is
no
more
hoping –

I have been

broken

open.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

